Author Topic: Issue with Orthographic camera  (Read 104 times)

M0dy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Issue with Orthographic camera
« on: June 07, 2021, 12:45:05 PM »
I'm getting weird behavior from the system when using Orthographic camera. everything looks fine in the scene view. in the game view thou and during runtime everything looks wrong. any specific configuration to support Orthographic camera?

Kronnect

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7097
    • View Profile
Re: Issue with Orthographic camera
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2021, 01:34:02 PM »
Hello,

Looks a z-fighting issue between the grid and the background image.

1) Is it Terrain Grid System or Grids 2D?

2) Which rendering pipeline are you using, built-in, URP?

3) Have you tried using the mesh displacement options in Terrain Grid System and see if elevating the grid mesh solves the issue?

M0dy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Issue with Orthographic camera
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2021, 01:48:57 PM »
1- Terrain Grid System
2- URP
3- I didn't as I need accurate boxes sizes. I guess using displacement, if it might fix the grid looks it will not be accurate in size.

Kronnect

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7097
    • View Profile
Re: Issue with Orthographic camera
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2021, 02:01:46 PM »
Thanks, will check. Some displacement options just affects the depth buffer and doesn't change grid shape/size.

Kronnect

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7097
    • View Profile
Re: Issue with Orthographic camera
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2021, 09:58:31 AM »
Hi,

The issue might be related to MSAA which tends to smooth thin wires and lines. This depends on resolution so some lines could be more affected than others.
To fix ths issue, either disable MSAA or increase the thickness value of the territories or cells in the inspector.

Also please update to 12.3 on the Asset Store today as it contains some fixes.

Regards